Why is this game not 64bit?

Discussion in 'Player Support' started by freehotdawgz, Nov 23, 2012.

1. freehotdawgz

I'm willing to bet a vast majority of gamers have 64bit setups. I've been using it for at least 4 years now. Hardly anyone has less than 4gb of ram. It's so cheap you can buy 8gb for around $40. It's time for game developers to get with the times. This isn't a console port for crying out loud.
    • Up x 1
  2. Meta Haze

PlanetSide 2 is not set to handle every thread so it only uses a certain percentage of your Processor (25-40%, equal to 1 core.), etc. I'm not sure if this will get changed in the future along with the optimizations they said they will be doing, I hope so though.
    • Up x 1
  3. DonnyD.

It is done like this because SOE wants to use the forgelight engine for the new everquest and most MMO players buy a brand new 4 year old dell to play on......
    • Up x 1
  4. Luminus

Problem is even four years ago we were wondering why devs still hadn't caught up to 64bit.
    • Up x 7
  5. Vellsi

Well, it's quite simple: Try to name 10 games which are done in 64 bit without googling for it now. :)
    Just saying, it's technically possible but no game studio goes through the effort yet.

It has not caught on as monetary viable or technically essential (and cuts off 20% of the customer base who still does not have access to 64bit OS or hardware. Estimate based on a usenet discussion I read recently but I'd guess it's actually only 10% of potential customers when considering minimum hardware specs for new games).

On top of that the devs are used to 32 bit development and optimizing for 64 bit forces them to learn a few things anew (as such are a bit slower than doing it the way it's been done for two decades). At least if they want to optimize for 64bit and not just make it 64bit without using increased caluclation and memory availability it provides. ;3
    • Up x 1
  6. Hatamoto

yeah they do know how to prioritize dont they ...