Engineer improvements from a real life combat engineer.

Discussion in 'Engineer' started by Faelan Caimbeul, Feb 2, 2013.

1. Faelan Caimbeul

Engineer improvements from a real life combat engineer.

I’m an engineer in Planetside mostly because I was an engineer in real life. While I see some similarities, there are a few things about the class that just seem to miss the point. The primary function of combat engineers is mobility and counter-mobility. Basically, we’re the guys that create and breach obstacles, build and blow up bridges, bunkers and roads and do all this with some serious heavy ordinance; most of the time before the enemy ever gets there. The three main ways CEs do their job are fixed defensive positions, obstacles and mines and breaching.

*Fixed Defensive Positions*

Turrets

First off, I’ll address the mana turret, since it’s the most broken; and by that I mean useless. I’ve spawned probably a hundred of these suckers (or more) and I have barely been able to hit anyone, let alone kill them, at POINT BLANK RANGE. Now I realize I’m not the best shot on Earth, but come on! A target is 10 meters away and nothing? Seriously? I like the idea of the turrets, in theory. It’s very common for combat engineers to create fixed positions for defensive fire. HOWEVER, the big difference here is in usefulness. While the mana turret mounts a paintball gun, CEs mount heavy machineguns. That is what those turrets and defensive positions are for. Think TMG-50, NC6 Saws and SVA 88s.

One of the other things we got to play with as combat engineers is the TOW and Javelin missile systems. For those who aren’t familiar, these are hard core guided anti-tank missiles. There’s one big restriction to the system, it’s NOT MOBILE. Think Annihilator upgrade for a turret. Again, missiles NEED to be upgrades for the turrets. Without these upgrades, Engineers are useless in front line units for anything but ammo camels and grease monkeys.