Any tips for a rookie pilot?

Discussion in 'PlanetSide 2 Gameplay Discussion' started by DragenoidHighLord, May 28, 2016.

1. DragenoidHighLord

So im actually in a game,interested in air combat,not just ESF but in genenral since i will need at least basics of flight to in the future organize air raids,strafes and fly in general.So im an NC pilot,i will be doing some time in the VR to get a bearing of Reavers abilities and playstyle.Im looking for advice or tips,any faction since both sides of the nose gun help.Im not trying to be a amazing dogfighter i just wanna know how to be more then a clay pigeon in the sky.As for settings for my mouse i ran the sensetivity to 100 so its easier for me to fly.
  2. Sh4n4yn4y

Most important: rebund your pitch to mouse keys.

Second most important: Don't get frustrated when you die. If you see someone pull off a flawless RM in the distance, wait until you have more friendlies, or just run.
    Learn from your deaths.

Also, if you're not an amazing dogfighter... you're a clay pigeon. That is why the air game is so difficult to learn and get into.
  3. Jamuro

Watch youtube tutorials to get a basic idea of what you have to learn and rebind.

And then practise in vr until you can pull the most basic manouvers off without thinking about them.

For a2g you are good to go after that.

If a2a combat is something you want to give a try then prepare for a long and somewhat difficult journey.

For a2a combat until the update from pts hits, use a mosquito.

Why?
    Because it's controlls generally feel smoother and more reactive to a new pilot and it's default nosegun is a lot more suited to help you improve your aim.

After a few days you are probably able to pull off sneak attacks even in a reaver, but that sadly doesn't teach you much and once you end up in a hoverfight you will struggle a lot more than with a mosquito.