Any advice for a new HA?

Discussion in 'Heavy Assault' started by lp998, Oct 3, 2013.

1. lp998

Ok, so I'm fairly new to PS2. I'm pretty bad at this game. In the 4 days ive been playing, I've had 3 kills, one against a team mate. I've died more times than I would like to admit. I do get assists every so often, so I'm not thaaaat bad at aiming. So, what are good tactics and certifications for a new HA? When should I use what weapon? Any shooting strategies?
  2. shd

I'm assuming, by your profile avatar you play VS.

You have a kick *** starter gun, the Orion. Get 1x scope first, then few cheap ranks of Nanoweave armor. Next take the first Med kit and use your infantry resources to build a stockpile. Start with the default shield (nmg) maybe even get the first rank. You will switch to the resist shield when you get a bit more used to the mechanics. I suggest forward grip for the orion as it makes it a bit more versatile and you should be using it for a while. It's a hipfire beast with the laser sight tho.

Don't be afraid to get close and personal with the Orion, it's a great hipfire weapon. It has a .75 movement speed when aiming down the sights (best you can get) so make use of it by moving left/right when shooting.

Once you get used to the shield mechanic you can switch to the resist, The difference is that you can turn the default one anytime in the fight to get the full benefit but you will have to switch the resist one on as early as possible in the fight. If you are good with micromanagment, you barely need the extra ranks as it lasts a while and regenerates fast.

The default launcher is excellent so any other dumbfire is a luxury for a new player. As soon as you feel comfortable with your infantry performance get the Nemesis. It's cheap, kicks aircraft **** and can be dumbfired.

By the time you have enough certs for the other stuff (lancer, concussion grenades, decimator, c4) you will have enough experience to decide for yourself.