A dedicated pilot - the current Air situation

Discussion in 'PlanetSide 2 Gameplay Discussion' started by Nerhesi, Nov 28, 2012.

1. Nerhesi

I've been flying in pretty much every game I can. I am BR 19 - I play casually, but I was alpha squad and did purchase that deal so I managed to unlock all (except A2A) missiles for my Scythe.

Right, background done. I just wanted to give a clear and concise opinion, coupled with facts on my game playing experience thus far. Here goes:

A2G Rockets, or Rocketpods:
    Not the problem - see below before you take my head off or agree with me.

Air-to-Air missiles:
    Problem. I'm sorry but if I get on another ESF or liberator, and you cannot have your friends shoot me down, you're dead. Please drop all the elitist BS about dodging around canyons, knowing how missiles work and flares. I have been playing combined-arms flight games every since BF1942 and every possible one since then. You cannot dodge these missiles. You will not be able to put something in their path because I am good pilot. I will have increase energy on you to insure you cannot lose them in trees and I will be at a good range to ensure they connect within 5 seconds in so. Assuming even a pilot of equal skill as I, who can pop flares and do a U turn near immediately and luckily (because it will be luck that determines this part) get a visual on where I am, to turn it into a gun battle (by immediately boosting it towards me), I still have the initial advantage as I have launched a missile and I'm now on guns. I'm one "cycle" ahead of you on the missile exchange.

tldr: Missiles are too simple to use at the moment. Air to Air missiles that is. They will do as many u-turns as is necessary to follow you. This is not a joke - I have dodged a missile using high-G maneuvers and I've had it PASS me (fly right infront me), twice, and it still connected the third time.

Anti-Air situation from the ground: