Discord but not forums? Tells you something...

Discussion in 'General Gameplay Discussion' started by santargria, Mar 30, 2017.

1. ruinarion New Member

I am rather new to EQ2 and didn't know anything about the EQ2Wire forums but I must thank Feldon. He does a lot of work for the community.
    Xillean, Feldon, santargria and 2 others like this.
  2. Shmogre Well-Known Member

The access to the devs via Discord is very helpful when there are game-breaking bugs, and I really do appreciate their responsiveness. We really need someone to collect the relevant things that the devs share on Discord and summarize them to the official forums...a player liaison who can make sure things like "We know that <blah> is happening, it's a bug and will be fixed with the next hotfix" get communicated to the playerbase.

Discord can be a great tool if it is harnessed well. Right now, it's a bit chaotic...there is some very good, vital information being shared there, but it is only being seen by the few who are online at the time. Having a player advocate compiling and sharing the dev posts on the official forums would go a long way towards making sure important information gets collected and passed on with consistency.
  3. Lucus Well-Known Member

the devs haven't paid much attention to the forums in years, at least with discord you know there are there listening evewn if they aren't responding and if there is a major problem you can let them know on discord quickly.

as for looking at how a discussion came about, you can do that in discord, find the post referencing whatever it is and then backtrack through the history.
    Prissetta likes this.
  4. Kioske Well-Known Member

Feldon was trying to be that "player liaison" and they pretty much trolled him right out of there. Last I heard, Feldon stopped helping with the Discord stuff just a little bit ago. I don't hate the idea of the discord, I actually really like the idea, I just think it needs to be moderated a whole lot better.