EverQuest Next Canceled

Discussion in 'The Veterans' Lounge' started by Feradach, Mar 11, 2016.

1. Zamiam Augur

even if EQN had launched i know myself and lots of others who would not of even played it .. unless they can come up with a way to xfer the toons/or accounts from EQ to the upgrade new game .. I know i wont be playing it .. I have tens of thousands of hours and thousands of dollars vested in EQ with my 7 accounts and almost 17 years of playing. if EQ does get shut down eventually and another game comes around then who knows , but i wont be playing anygame Sony or DB if DB even releases another game just in spite that they left EQ in the wind and let it die.. thats just me ..

lets see here im 44 now so i started playing EQ when i was 27 .. thats a long time investment one that can't be replaced easily. and the money isn't that much of an issue its the Time investment and friends/ memories of a great game .. I played Ultima Online before EQ and i think that is still going ? so im sure EQ will live on for quite some time..
  2. Mouldy Shroom Journeyman

I don't think I said that. I don't think I said EQ was dead, or that it couldn't use more resources. Or even that you couldn't keep it going for several more years.

I do say that you there are things you can't do with an old product that you can do by starting again.

Like it or not, you can't just iteratively evolve EQ into a modern game, with a modern engine, fixing all its problems and maintaining a monolithic code base.

At some point the old code becomes a limitation. The only way to remove that limitation is to start again.

Let's remember that EQ was never designed to run for 17 years. They didn't build it from the ground up with forward extensibility in mind. EQ is a product of a very old egnine (World of Tanks, wasn't it?), with lots of ancient code, and systems that are already at the very /limits/ of what is possible. The AA system, in particular.