My changed view on the stat clamp debate

Discussion in 'Gotham City (General Gameplay)' started by TheLQ-DCUO, Jan 4, 2016.

1. SethZoulMonEl 10000 Post Club

I've seen reports that people were saying the game wouldn't last a year back during beta. I have no way to substantiate that, but I can corroborate I've seen people saying it's the final year since I started playing two years and nine months ago. At times, I've wondered if they were right, but the game keeps defying the doomsday prophecies.
  2. Tannen Committed Player

Honestly, this just seems to be a common thing in online gaming. Blizzard games aside, every online game I've played in which I followed the forums had regular topics/posts with people claiming that the game was on death's door and/or such and such new game on the horizon was going to kill it.

I'm never quite sure if these people actually believe what they're saying when they say things like this, or if they're just exaggerating for attention.
    • Like x 1
  3. SethZoulMonEl 10000 Post Club

That happens with Blizzard games, too. WoW was supposed to be killed by Rift.
  4. Wiccan026 Loyal Player

It's roughly been happening since launch, I'd even concede that it could have happened during beta (never actually got to play it, did start playing day one though). I do know that the doom and gloom officially started at the psn hack (can't remember if that was before or after update 3... worse update you should be glad you missed it ;).) and it was in full force after GU 3 (or vice versa can't remember which came first).
  5. thedemonocus Loyal Player