VS Max Help

Discussion in 'MAX' started by Flopping Porpus, Jun 11, 2016.

1. Flopping Porpus

I am completely new to max play even though I have 300+ hours in the game and am looking for helpful Max advice. I am leaning towards a purely AI play style. Things I am wondering about:
    1. Where / When should I pull a Max? Which fights are worth pulling a max in?
    2. Which weapons are best for AI combat? Which upgrades / weapons should I buy first?
    3. General play style and ways to not get murdered quickly
    All help is appreciated :)
  2. Cirena

1 - I find them most effective in 24-48 50/50 fights. Any less and you're very rude, any more and you'll get melted pretty fast (or stuck in the mlg box screaming for repairs).
    2 - Blueshifts for midrange, Cosmos for closerange/indoor. Comets for antimax and sniping.
    3 - Don't rambo. Hug corners, use cover. EOD Hud implant is very useful. Use Charge to get out of trouble, not in it. Both Flak and Kinetic armor are useful, only use Auto Repeair if soloing. Ideally you want a pocket engineer and a motion spotter dropping infil around you at all times (and a human wave in front of you to set off mines and soak up grenade/launcher spam :)).
  3. cobaltlightning

For VS, Pretty much gonna parrot Cirena.

For your AI Build, I'd stick with your Quasars, because it's a lot cheaper to buy the second one than it is two nebulas or two blueshifts or two cosmos.
    Twin Comets can easily melt Armor, and MAX is no exception.

That said, I know you wanna be mainly AI, but I'd keep a foot in the AV and AA Doors, as well. Might as well get your second Comet and Burster.
  4. Luminari

Big fights which are likely to see you gather the lost 450 nanites before it's over. If its just a zerg and you take the base in 4 minutes, it's not worth taking a max. Protracted fights are the best, or if you're "Max Crashing" a point or building.