Tell me about TR sniper rifles

Discussion in 'Infiltrator' started by SenorBeef, Dec 23, 2012.

1. SenorBeef

I have no experience playing infiltrator for TR other than I'm not too thrilled with the default rifle. Flush with SC I want to buy a good sniper rifle.

What're the strengths and weaknesses of the various options? What is generally considered the best?
  2. cardboardbacon

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet...rue&sortcolid=31&sortasc=true&rowsperpage=250

For the bolt-action rifles:

TSAR-42:
    - Highest rate of fire and fastest reload speed; excels at close-quarter combat.

M77-B:
    - Higher bullet velocity than the TSAR, but slower reload/rate of fire.

SAR-7:
    - Higher bullet velocity than the M77-B, but slower reload/rate of fire.

RAMS:
    - Highest damage and bullet velocity; excels at long-range sniping.

Btw, certain attachments may not be available for every rifle (ie. the M77 can only use high magnification scopes, while the TSAR can only use low magnification scopes).
  3. SenorBeef

Looks like the .50 is a winner to me, the downsides (1s longer reload, like .1 seconds more between shots) aren't as good as having it hit harder/faster. Is that generally how people feel?
  4. Soylent

If you're into semi-auto (which it seems you're not) then the 99SV is your only choice when it comes to long range sniping (the only semi-auto that can use a x6 scope and upwards)
    Long range bolt-action (x6 - x12 scopes) you've got 3 choices.
    - M77-B - the cheapest bolt-action sniper with the fastest reload speed, slowest bullet speed
    - SR-7 - high bullet speed, slightly slower reload
    - RAMS .50M - highest bullet speed, highest damage, slowest reload

Close-medium range (up to x4 scope) you've got:
    - TSAR-42 - a gimmicky close range bolt-action sniper, some people like it but I've got no idea why.
    - KSR-35 - the semi-auto equivalent of the TSAR-42.