Specing my HA for long range engagements.

Discussion in 'Heavy Assault' started by ElricVIII, Sep 13, 2015.

1. ElricVIII

I'm looking to expand my HA's versatility. I am quite adept in CQB and mid-range fighting, but the long range battles render me fairly useless. Since I'm still relatively new to this game, I want to focus my resources on one class and I have chosen the HA. My current character is VS.

The first thing I intend to do is upgrade my weapon. The Orion VS54 is pretty great overall, but at range I might as well be shooting BBs. The most viable candidates for this seem to be the Eidolon VE33 and the Ursa. I'm hoping for some advice on this front before I make my decision.

The Eidolon has a lower % decrease in damage over distance, although it is semi-auto which means that it does not transition very well. Additionally, it possesses a lower bullet velocity, so it makes hitting mobile targets at range harder.

The Ursa has a lower overall bullet damage and higher % decrease over distance, but its fully automatic capability means that I can transition to mid/close range with ease. The significantly higher bullet velocity should help, as well.

So, what advice can you offer about these two guns? What other things can the HA do to supplement his long range capability?
  2. Elkybam

Never tried the Ursa, but I tried other faction equivalents of the Eidolon.

Eidolon and other battle rifles happen to be in an awkward position where their role of long range support has either been replaced by semi-auto scouts, snipers, or other dedicated automatic weapons. Best tip I can give is to avoid shooting too quickly at range and pace yourself unless you happen to be in a frantic showdown with a sniper.