Since Release, Latency and Hit Detection Problems

Discussion in 'PlanetSide 2 Gameplay Discussion' started by Kuriby, Feb 8, 2015.

1. Kuriby

I am not an expert on game design or networking, so I am asking the community to help answer this question:

Why does Planetside 2 still have one of he WORST hit detection and latency issues in a online FPS game?
    (It has gotten better since release, but 100-200ms is still unacceptable for a online fps game).

My first thought is that this isn't the developers fault, it is simply that the battles are too large scale.

My second though is that the SOE is too poor to properly buy big enough hardware to handle all the data they are receiving and sending out.

Now I am not a expert in anything related to game design or latency or networking soo....

Can anyone explain why it is so difficult for the devs to make severs with acceptable levels for hit detection? Are they incompetent? too ambitious? or limitation in our current tech?
  2. xMaxdamage

hit detection has been bad for like the past 8 months, general framerate (at least for me) has decreased by like 30% in the past 3 months, and latency/packet loss makes the game unplayable since december on EU servers.

the game is curently in its worst state ever.
    • Up x 2
  3. Pootisman

This. Im not super motivated to play PS2, because of the lack of new content, but it is still fun to play. Well, it WAS fun to play. Since the Christmas patch, the game is going downhill fast:
    • peformance problems (sudden FPS drops)
    • extreme lag (sometimes ping is over 9000ms, no joke)
    • game breaking bugs like invisible players
    • many annoying bugs like vehicle ejection seat bug (this bug is in the game since 5th of August!)
    I was a dedicated PS2 player during the last 2 years, but the crap that happened since the Christmas patch is just too much. There are other fun games to play.
    • Up x 1
  4. xMaxdamage