[Suggestion] Semi-Auto and Burst Fire Fix. (Selective Fire)

Discussion in 'PlanetSide 2 Gameplay Discussion' started by Alexkruchev, Jul 17, 2015.

1. Alexkruchev

I'm sure this has come up before, but I have been attempting to use the burst fire guns in this game for a few months now, and I cannot have any meaningful success with them. The Gauss Rifle Burst, T1B, T1S are my main concerns. The SABR is not something i'm really discussing here, but it could apply (2x burst is less broken than 3x burst).

Here's the TL;DR version:
    Burstfire sucks. Semi-Auto sucks. There is no reason practically to use these kinds of weapons as their recoil deficits outweigh their tiny spread and bloom bonuses.

Solution: Move the recoil of the burst, including FSR, to AFTER the 3rd round. To counter how OP this would be (as all three rounds would be too accurate), make the base accuracy about 15% worse than it is presently. This would mean that the burst would be very, very tight (but not sniper quality), and therefore reliable at ranges. BUT... the player would be forced to let that huge pile of recoil and spread reset before sending as second burst. This way, the burst fire can reliably deliver all 3 rounds, and has a front-end advantage over weapons that are manually burst firing via auto-mode. Apply (Or continue to use) a burst delay mechanic, as I believe is already in place, to limit upward rate of fire to be at least 100-200 rpms less than it's full auto counterparts.

What does this look like: Vaguely similar to the way the burst rifles of COD Black Ops 2 worked. (Of course, bullet drop and travel time would still be a thing in Planetside, and not in that game). I'm not a Codfan, but this was one way I felt they did burst fire better than most games do by far.