Rookie looking for aiming tips

Discussion in 'PlanetSide 2 Gameplay Discussion' started by TokyoShoe, Dec 4, 2012.

1. TokyoShoe

I will readily admit, I am no pro when it comes to FPS style games (but I can hang in there with the average players). That being said, in Planetside 2 I feel like a spastic electroshock patient... herky jerking about the battlefield. I realize this is a combination of in-game mouse speed and out-of-game mouse speed / DPI settings, but can I get some recommendations on how to smooth things out some from those of you better at aiming?

I have "Reduce Input Lag" turned on. I don't have Mouse Acceleration turned on in any form. My mouse's polling speed is set to the absolute highest (1000) that it goes. Am I missing something else or is it really just "practice practice practice"?
  2. Morpholine

Lowering the mouse resolution may actually help you. Adjust your settings down gradually (or dynamically if your mouse supports it), until you find a comfortable spot.

If you're all over the place, the high resolution is causing your small movements to have a greater effect on how far your crosshair moves on the screen. Lowering the resolution allows you to make larger mouse movements for less overall in game movement, and can improve your fine control a good bit.

There are snipers who swear by very low DPI settings when they're scoped in.

I personally stick with the high DPI settings on my mouse, until I get into a turret, where I bump it down a notch or two.
  3. Razeth

What are you having issues with? How to aim properly or how to set your mouse?

Describe your "problem situation" is the mouse so sensative you spin around 3 times instead of turning right or something?
  4. TokyoShoe