PS2 from a Milsim/PS1 Vet/Beta Vets POV and the major reason the game took such a dive.

Discussion in 'PlanetSide 2 Gameplay Discussion' started by DoctorWhose, Jan 8, 2013.

1. DoctorWhose

There and back again.

Thats how you could describe my journey with PS2. I started playing the beta early after tech test and throughout the beta phase I was a strong advocate of making PS2 a bit more like its predecessor, alongside others. I then left in dissapointment when the release date was announced, knowing this would end in disaster. But more about that later.
    Fact is, I returned yesterday and gave it a try.

Now, nobody probably cares about that anyway, but to understand my POV I should probably tell you a bit more from where I am coming from.

My gaming "career", if one might want to say so, was lined by pretty much three big games: PS1, BF2 and ARMA II. To be more precise, I am refering to Project Reality, a realism mod for BF2. This is what I play pretty much everyday. The mod requires extensive teamwork to a point where you get kicked for not using the included VOIP client. The maps are huge, almost as huge as a PS2 map, but incredibly more detailed. And yes, its a mod.

A big part of my dissapointment comes from the fact that it seems like mods always do so much of a better job than actual commercial titles, to a point where devs and publishers simply dont release mod tools in fear of mods doing a much better job (BF3 I am looking at you).

But enough of that.

My major gripes with PS2 is not the balancing, because it can be fixed. Its not the hackers, because these can be banned. Its the core design that is flawed IMO (yes, its only my opinion). Its designed to be chaotic. Not to have actual engagements that are plannable. You can win every fight by simply telling everybody to run straight ahead and start to shoot.