Planetside 2 from the view of a newbie

Discussion in 'PlanetSide 2 Gameplay Discussion' started by Techercizer, Dec 5, 2012.

1. Techercizer

Hello all. I recently started playing Planetside 2 and have been having a pretty fun time for the most part. I don't have an outfit yet, so I have to skulk around like a dirty pubber for the mean time, but I've found plenty of ways to get kills, revive allies, and have fun. I wanted to present a few of my thoughts about this game here, from the perspective of a new player. I'm not going to try and "solve" any of the issues I feel planetside 2 has. I've seen enough newbies come into other games I play spouting ridiculously dumb ideas as magical ways to fix all the "problems" a game has that I don't wish that on any of you.

First off, what's with these certs. I get this is an F2P game, and I'm willing to put in the time to unlock new things, but these prices are kind of ridiculous. I've been playing for 4 days now, and have amassed maybe 200 certs. There are basic things I need to stay competitive with other players: powerful AA and AS missiles for faction fighters instead of useless boost tanks, the ability to equip something that isn't a dead weight chaingun on my MAX's left arm when I'm trying to fight air or vehicles, and many more. Each one of these things costs 1000 certs.

Am I expected to play for a month just to get my fighter up to the level of people who brought money with them? I know I don't have a lot of experience to speak from, but I hope nobody will try to convince me these things aren't important while fighters are decimating my team's ground positions with rocket pods. I'm fine with paying out the nose with playtime for some of the (presumably balanced) alternate infantry weapon sidegrades, but this equipment is losing (or winning) us wars.