Let's talk about: semi automatic rifles

Discussion in 'PlanetSide 2 Gameplay Discussion' started by Tnsr, Feb 26, 2013.

1. Tnsr

This thread is full of whine. Live with it or G T F O.

The weapons I want to talk about are the battle rifles, the semi automatic scout rifles and the semi automatic long range rifles.
    As I see it there is almost none using them on the battlefield and I wonder why. Of course we don't have any useage statistics, so it is pure subjective observation. I use the Impetus myself atm, I trialed the battle rifle and the semi scout rifle multiple times as I am looking for a more precise weapon than just spray and pray.
    The stats aside the semi automatics are purely underpowered. Not because of their bullet damage, but their usability is just MEEEEEEH. The recoil is HUGE, maybe this is realistic (I am not a weapon expert), but the kick is so big that it is like you have to aim for the enemy new after each shot, while with the automatics you just hold your crosshair on your enemy and pull the trigger down. Especially the battle rifles don't stand a chance, 5-6 shots to kill an enemy, every shot fired manually after the huge recoil compared to an automatic rifle that needs mybe 8 or 9 hits in automatic spray mode is not a fair fight.
    So what are those rifles in the game for? Are they pure support weapons? Are they not suposed to work in CQC and short ranges? Even in medium ranges spray and pray weapons outdamage and disturb your aiming with the flinch mechanics so that you barely hit a shot. In CQC and shot ranges I normally end up shooting 2, maybe 3 shots before I get killed by an automatic rifle. And I don't speak about 2 or 3 hits, just 2 or 3 shots in the time I get killed. Theoretically you will never kill an enemy and seriously I mostly can only kill an enemy if I catch him standing and from behind, and even then it happens that a HA just turns around and kills me with ease.