[Suggestion] Improve Visual Contrast by Toning Down Atmospheric Fog

Discussion in 'PlanetSide 2 Gameplay Discussion' started by Shylan, May 19, 2019.

1. Shylan

I've played PlanetSide2 on and off since closed beta, and one thing that's always bugged me about the graphics is the low contrast of the game's rendering engine. The lack of contrast makes it very hard to spot enemies against certain backgrounds (even at close distances, sometimes) and it's made even harder at medium to long distances.

I'm not sure what the issue is, since I'm not a graphics programmer, but it looks to me like an over-use of atmospheric fog is the main issue. There could be other contributing factors, such as color correction or tone mapping, but I'm not sure that's what I'm seeing alongside the fog issue.

If it's possible to tone the fog down significantly, or give players the option to turn it down, or even completely off, I think that would go a long way towards improving visual fidelity and acuity in the game.
  2. FIN Faravid

Not sure what i think about this. On one hand, it would be great to have more long range combat, but i cant stand snipers. They force me to always take cover, pull a vehicle or max or go into close quarters, making long range weapons almost useless.

But what definetly would be nice is to have more contrast in those triangles that indicate spotted players and other parts of UI that indicate friend or foe. Instead of all of them being white+color, it would be great if they use bright empire color (or friend/foe) and dark empire color (or friend/foe). For example:
    for VS dark purple and bright cyan,
    for NC dark blue and bright yellow,
    for TR black and bright red.

Then you would have 4 squads, which could be for example:
    white and TR red
    yellow and TR red
    green and TR red
    cyan and TR red