How to make engineers less good

Discussion in 'PlanetSide 2 Gameplay Discussion' started by xGreedFuSioN, Jun 4, 2013.

1. xGreedFuSioN

Currently the engineer goes like this:
    -Repair turrets
    -Repair maxes
    -Drop ammo below heavies and maxes
    -choice class for vehicle lovers

As it stands, playing a purely support engineer, while useful, takes NO skill whatsoever, and is terribly boring. IDK bout you but standing by a sundy thats getting hit and holding LMB isn't fun. Only time I play engy is when I'm eating or talking to someone on skype so I'm playing with 1 hand. That's right, I'm an effective engineer with 1 hand.

Now, If I had my way you engies would have to choose between repair tool and primary weapon. But that's unrealistic.

My solution is to simply increase the deploy zone on the ammo box from 1/2-1m to 10-15m. when you equip an ammo pack and are ready to throw the no-deploy-zone would show on the minimap just like how the AMS works.

Thoughts? Would prevent engies from just spamming ammo boxes all in the little nook where everyone is camped and think about placing them tactically first.
    • Up x 1
  2. Seranov

How dare a class by helpful to the team.

I think this suggestion is short-sighted and foolish.
    • Up x 1
  3. Vortok

Follow a MAX into a hot zone to keep him repaired while dodging incoming fire and get back to us.
    • Up x 1
  4. StB2000

The game is falling apart and you want to fix an imaginary problem?
    • Up x 1
  5. Ronin Oni

seriously?

no

/thread
  6. IamDH

Wow you want to nerf it because it supports the team...........
    The reason its good certs is to encourage supporting the team in planetside ---- a team based game.
  7. SgtBreastroker

Try it with squads of zoidberg maxes warping all over the place. :eek:
    • Up x 1
  8. WaiZen

I don't even use engineers to repair and drive anymore, Nanite auto-repair Ftw.
  9. Jaes

This thread...

Totally Troll :eek:
  10. xGreedFuSioN