Hacking or lagging?

Discussion in 'PlanetSide 2 Gameplay Discussion' started by Mattressi, Nov 30, 2012.

1. Mattressi

Just now I was defending a Tech Plant against TR and noticed that one guy on their team was getting the overwhelming majority of their kills. I saw some guy who basically flashed in and out - he would one moment appear somewhere and then half a second or so later he would appear again elsewhere. It didn't seem like he was moving any faster than anyone else, just that he was somehow lagging between two locations. I was sitting a way back and watching. He started running directly away from me (so that his position in front of me would not have changed, other than getting further away from me). I started shooting at him. The first shot hit and then he disappeared. I kept firing. Finally, he reappeared further away and took another bullet (I was near the end of my magazine). He disappeared again and I lost sight of him. I eventually chanced upon him while he was shooting at someone (he never seemed to disappear when he was shooting). I was 2 m behind him and opened up on his head. He died. I think that was the only time he died that whole fight. After that, I was killed by him multiple times, rarely seeing him. At one point he appeared to be continually falling from a ceiling strut that he couldn't have normally reached (he wasn't LA, he was a medic).

In the end, we lost the base and I'm confident in saying it was solely this guy's doing. He certainly wasn't the only one there, but without him, the TR would never have got the base in that battle.

I've never seen this happen before. I play on the Australian server (I'm in Aus) and on a US West server and I've not seen this before, making me think it might not be simple lag.

So, was this guy genuinely lagging (or something else going wrong) or was he hacking or cheating in some way? For the record, his name was DirtyHarry (TR on AU server).
  2. OminousZ