Combat medic - a balance of power

Discussion in 'Combat Medic' started by Orange, Jun 4, 2013.

1. Orange

Considering my somewhat ambiguous title probably didn't give it away, I have a question about combat medics as they are currently and am hoping to start a discussion.

Do you think the medic medical applicator(normal point and click heal/revive) is too strong in it's current state? If so, what would be an appropriate way to fix it? If not, why?

I currently play medic solely and spend most of my time healing players with a small focus on clowning enemies when appropriate. I enjoy my role but it's felt a bit off and I haven't been able to conjure the correct thoughts to explain it. After a recent comment in another thread, it occurred to me that said feeling was the medi-tool being too powerful. A single medic with fully certed medi-tool is powerful by itself, let alone multiple medics working together, and resurrecting each other constantly.

My suggested solution for this is a limit to the medi-tool such as a cooldown like the nano-repair tool, an ammo counter, or even just a reload needed after x amount of healing or x amount of revives.

By adding a limitation to the medi-tool, it would add some more challenge/depth to being a combat medic. It might even resolve other issues such as the experience limit on healing/resurrection, tone down zerging enemies, and add more value for having more medics.

I'd like to know what you all think; I'm sure there are a myriad of good ideas within this community.

tl:dr - Combat medic medi-tool feels too strong currently, possible added limitation to increase challenge, hopefully improve infantry combat flow.
  2. Noxuz