[Suggestion] Battle Tank Changes

Discussion in 'PlanetSide 2 Gameplay Discussion' started by PatateMystere, Jan 27, 2016.

1. PatateMystere

(Sorry previous thread was posted by mistake, this is complete post)

I wish to discuss about a complete revamp of the gameplay for tanks in the game. This is based on my personnal real life experience with vehicule weapons and my knowlegde as I'm an armor designer, so far for aircraft and light armorer vehicules (less than 30T).
    I will also consider that planetside 2 universe is supposed to have a far more advanced technology.

1- Muzzle velocity

Muzzles velocities are very very low in this game (250-275 m/s )
    120mm real HEAT ammunition, depending on the weapon has about 1100 m/s volocity and a 2500-3000 m effective range.
    BUT as planetside 2 is a game, involving fighting distance of 500m or less instead of 3000m. 1100 x 500 / 2500 = 220 m/s. So the scale is good.

This was just to be clear. Muzzle velocities are scaled on in-game distances. So it's fine.

2- Ammunitions

HEAT rounds seems to be balanced. They are Anti TANK (AP) rounds using an explosive to create a jet. For example a 70mm RPG pierce arround 400mm of armor steel. The side effect is that the ammunition have a blast effect so it is right that HEAT rounds can be used against tank and infantry.

AP rounds. As I said, a HEAT round is an AP round (main purpose). So, I think AP round are actually APFSDS rounds. Basically a 1m long metal darts travelling at 1500m/s.
    I suggest a change on AP rounds, in order to fit the real behavior of an APFSDS round:
    - increase muzzle velocity by +25m/s and no blast effects.

HE rounds are supposed to be fuzed rounds. I suggest to:
    - make it work as AA flaks. Explosion center at 1m from target and so, no direct damages, only blast damages.