[Suggestion] any Steam Deck Users?

Discussion in 'PlanetSide 2 Gameplay Discussion' started by Golconda, Jan 25, 2024.

1. Golconda

played a bit of Planetside on Deck while handheld and yes I die a lot of 1vs1 but still, playing this game on an handheld device (with a trackpad, which is so much better than an analog stick) is just so good! I play mostly an hour per day in bed before sleep. For who has never tried it, performance is quite good for a "console" standpoint, you get from 60 fps in 12 vs 12 to 28ish fps in big zergs vs zergs with medium graphics and shadows off, while if you want to keep shadows at min (like me) you have to tune down a bit the res (but it's not really a problem since you play on a little screen and you can enable a specific FSR built-in into the deck).
    I'm not good at tinkering with graphics sadly and I don't like potato mode. you can get much more FPS by lowering graphics fidelity, maybe another decker around wants to share his settings and/or control scheme?

btw as a suggestion, If the devs released a deck specific graphics profile like cyberpunk and other games did it would instantly give PS2 a spark of celebrity among all these lively handheld PCs/steam/valve/deck/linux communites, and who knows maybe some deckhead may possibly be tempted to plug a mouse and keyboard into his device :O
  2. NobleLluis

I am about to buy the ps5 just for play planetside 2,but i switch to about to buy the steam deck if all you say is true,because i questioned in the past how run planetside 2 in steam deck and the major part of people say i wont get more than 10 fps in 96 vs 96 battles. Do you recommend the steam deck to play planetside 2?
  3. Golconda