Added RAM, now game locks up

Discussion in 'Player Support' started by LowTechKiller, Aug 29, 2013.

1. LowTechKiller

I don't think this is a game issue, but I thought I'd ask the bright folks here for help.

I run an older system with an Intel Core2 Quad Q9450 proc.
    I'm running Win7 64, and have a good graphics card (GTX660).
    Up until today it has only had 4GB of ram, and it has run fine.

Today I added an additional 4GB of ram, and ever since, my game locks up and I've seen the dreaded BSoD three times.

I'm no expert, but I'm no beginner either. I built this system. The ram I'm using is compatible with my MB, and the additional 4GB (2x2GB) I added today is identical (not just similar) to the 4 (2x2GB) that were already present (same brand, model, size, everything...identical).
    I looked through the bios, but I didn't see anything obvious that I needed to adjust for simply adding more ram.

It seems that my problems occur when I get near the 50% memory usage mark, so I'm guessing either the new ram is bad, or my MB doesn't want to access the additional sticks.

Am I missing something obvious here? Am I doing something wrong? Thanks.
  2. Bambasti

At first glance it sounds like a broken RAM module. You may run some stress tests, like "Blend" in Prime95 (http://www.mersenne.org/freesoft/) or Memtest86 (http://www.memtest86.com/download.htm) which may be even better. Also it's a good idea to check memory timings and ease them a bit if in doubt. You can also remove all modules, scramble and plug them in again, maybe some contact isn't working properly at the moment. If you changed something in the BIOS you don't remember sometimes loading the default setting works. Flashing your mainboard to the latest available BIOS is a very good idea, too.
  3. LowTechKiller

I don't think it's the timing, since I can manually set it to match my modules through the (Gigabyte) motherboard tweaks.

I'll run the mem tests. Thanks.
  4. Van Dax