Should I join a Outfit?

Discussion in 'PlanetSide 2 Gameplay Discussion' started by Mianera, Dec 16, 2017.

1. Mianera

Hello forumside,

I have pretty much played and been a subscriber since launch. However, with nearly 3000 hours invested in the game over three toons (VS, TR and NC) all which are BR100+, I am beginning to consider joining a outfit as my directives grind is coming close to an end.

I consider myself an average player, maybe slightly above as my K/D is usually around 2 (I mostly play infantry).
    I know every base on every continent by memory and every route to every cap point. I have pretty much everything unlocked and fully certed, typically though I am a sundy driver as I understand the importance of a well parked sundy in both offense and defense. Mostly though, because I hate to have to run far.

I haven't been part of a outfit, mainly because I felt (perhaps wrongly) that outfits require you to play a certain class or pilot a specific vehicle depending on what they are up to.

But mainly my own playstyle would have probably conflicted, as I am a huge fan of long lasting infantry fights and not really interested in who caps a base or wins an alert. As mentioned above, I really needed those infantry kills to push the directives and therefore, a lot of redeploying as well as avoiding vehicle combat has been my focus the last 2 years. Like really, I am a huge fan of redeploy and instant action.

I have also seen a lot in Planetside over five years and at least on Miller, it is hard not to notice recurring actions from the outfits, and I am not just talking about the immature but also hilarious taunting in /yell chat. One part in particular, is how the factions attract different playing styles.

My humble observation (and gross generalization):

- VS attracts the most solo-players but also a high amount of skilled players
    - TR attracts the most team oriented players, and the amount of teamplay witnessed is incredible