Please do not go through with implants in their current form.

Discussion in 'PlanetSide 2 Gameplay Discussion' started by drhead, Jul 16, 2013.

1. drhead

I have played this game since around the time it released retail, November 2012. I enjoy it quite a bit. So much, in fact, that only a few months after I started playing, I decided to get a premium subscription. I believe that, in total, I have spent about $200 on the game so far. Now, I didn't spend money on the game because it was too hard and I wanted to make things easier. I did it because I enjoy this game, and I want to support the developers, as well as get more enjoyment out of it myself.

This is my problem with implants in their current form. They seem to miss what customers want - instead of being a way to get more enjoyment out of the game, they simply make the game easier in a way that breaks the normal conventions of how in-game items work.

In-game Items and Upgrades: How Things Should Work

As I am not the developer, I certainly can't be seen as a judge of how things are supposed to work. However, this does not mean that certain things are not in question:

From this, we can quite clearly see that the intent is as such:
    • Upgrades which affect gameplay (things that positively impact your character with no drawback) will be free. This means that you can only purchase them with certs. This is consistent with what is in-game - things like Nanoweave Armor, upgrades to class abilities, and vehicle performance frames, can only ever be purchased with certs.
    • Sidegrades (things that are different, but are neither an upgrade or a downgrade) can be unlocked with or without paying. This is where the implants tie in. This is where it would seem that implants would go, based on their pricing scheme. However, I do not see any implants having any drawback over standard functionality.