AV MANA Turrets

Discussion in 'Engineer' started by Alarox, Feb 17, 2014.

1. MalkorPrime

why don't we just increase the render distance then? some of us are playing on $2000 gaming rigs, we can handle increased render distance, and add fall off to rockets...i mean even in real life a rocket will run out of fuel eventually. just balance it so it's like 300-500 meters or something. idk, just trying to find a solution without taking sides.
  2. ZZYZX

This, 100 percent.

It does need to be reigned in a bit. And I'm a dedicated engineer. When on the receiving end, I can usually see the AV Turret's projectile just fine, but I can't see the turret itself or the engineer behind it.
    • Up x 2
  3. LibertyRevolution

The render distance is fine, they render as vehicles. The problem is culling.
    Objects are given a threat level, and the game culls objects to show you the closer higher threats.
    Their servers choose what is shown, and it shows the same thing to a $400 machine as your $2000 machine.
    The games culling is balanced around the minimum system requirements, if not the players with better rigs would have an advantage.
    • Up x 1
  4. KAHR-Alpha

Actually, I got a nice video of that the other day for those who don't believe it

5. Schwak

Besides the obvious problem of Mana turrets becoming de-rendered and still being able to hit you there a few changes that should be made to them. Mana turrets should cost resources but have more health to compensate. Still destroyed by one tank round or deci, but more resistance to small arms. Low risk high reward shouldn't exist in a game of this scale. Just last night I made the silly mistake of trying to run down a lightning that was trying to play sniper between indar ex and quartz, guess what I died to? 2 AV Mana turrets that didn't render.
    • Up x 4
  6. cruczi

They should make an exception in the culling rules for AV turrets to always render at max distance, because it's a balance issue.
    • Up x 2