Who are the best pilots and any tips on flying.

Discussion in 'PlanetSide 2 Gameplay Discussion' started by BigIronRanger, Sep 28, 2013.

1. BigIronRanger

Just started flying and i tell you its brutal as getting shot down in seconds and the pro pilots are making me look like trash, thats probably cause i am.

but any tips though? on how to become better at dogfighting and flying in general.
  2. Teegeeack

There are no pro-pilots, just smart pilots. They pick their battles, and are extremely aware of their surroundings. They usually roll with a zerg. I guarantee you won't find a supposedly good pilot who flies without heavy ground and air support. The biggest problem for new pilots is a simple inability to judge when to get into a fight and when to withdraw - this comes with experience. Make sure you are well acquainted with the map.
    • Up x 4
  3. EMP1RE

There are a lot of good to elite pilots. They have to be frankly... I am a good pilot but nowhere near the elite top tier types who roll around dogfighting 2-3 enemy ESF at a time. There is this pilot on Matherson, who shall go unnamed, who I have NEVER stood a chance against. He just dodges every shot, predicts every move and can traverse entire canyon ranges backwards whilst firing at me... I respect and fear him. Even seeing his ESF flying a couple of hexes away makes me think about turning around...

Getting good at flying comes down to a lot of things which will ultimately come with experience and as much time in ESF's as possible. Use the VR, learn the map (just fly around), get proficient at hover duels, learn to aim, strafe, how to exit a run, how to dodge direct fire, when to engage, when not to engage, learn your ESF's profile, learn to fly very low, learn to fly very fast, learn the perfect times to 'transition', situational awareness... just some of the things you will need to be very good at to 'get good'.

Have fun.
    • Up x 1
  4. Grayson