Warden/Mystic face off!

Discussion in 'Priests' started by GDINE, Aug 7, 2013.

1. GDINE New Member

Hello everyone,
    I just started playing EQII a few days ago. After playing various toons I decided that I would like to play a healer.
    My two friends are also playing with me and we group up quite often. One of my friends play a Guardian while the other plays a Wizard. Now I have heard that mystics suck or wardens are OP. I even heard to only play defilers! Funny thing is most people from the chat telling me this couldn't give me a summary of any of the classes listed above or even what kind of spells a particular class receives. Now then I have done some research and I know I wan to stay in the shaman or Druid healing classes and I know that I would prefer to melee dps (unless someone has an argument against it) so I believe my choice would be either Warden or Mystic. Could anyone please give me some advice in the differences between these classes and which of them would be better suited for my little mini group?
    Thanks in advance!
  2. Koinoo Member

First, my main is a defiler but I do have alternate characters for all of the priests at max level and have a basic knowledge of how they work.

Both warden and mystic are powerful, but they have a few basic differences to keep in mind.

Similarities between the two:

- Both are given options via AA's to replace primary damage spells with combat arts.
    - Both are given upgrades to the Cure Curse line to hasten the casting speed of that spell.
    - Both are given various "dumbfire" healing pets.

Notable Differences:

- Mystics primarily absorb damage as it occurs (wards), wardens primarily heal damage taken over time after it occurs (regens). Wardens do get some limited warding versus elemental based damage and a small physical ward for their small single target heal, while mystics have a few sources for damage over time healing.