Leveling Transmuting

Discussion in 'Tradeskill Discussion' started by ARCHIVED-opteius, Oct 7, 2007.

1. ARCHIVED-opteius Guest

First off, I am new to eq2 so maybe this is common knowledge but....

Transmuting. What is the best way to level this? It seems impossible. Ive spent 30g today buying rares and making mastercraft crap tailored pieces to melt and im still only at lvl 15 transmuting.

I dont understand! How do people level it up cheaply???????
  2. ARCHIVED-Wyrmypops Guest

I took my main and did a load of quests in Greater Faydark. Got a load of rewards to melt. And made an alt, who duly sent him any quest rewards and dropped items he found that were possible to be sent for melting.
    Course, once you reach 100 you get no updates from melting items, so don't go breakdown and start making things until you get to that point. It'll only depress you, as there's no pristine exp as there are with making the best result of a combine with other crafts because it doesn't advance that way.
  3. ARCHIVED-Varvar Guest

Well, I don't think there is a way to increase transmuting skill both quickly and cheaply. However, you can mitigate the damage to your bank account.
    Up to skill 100, you get skill updates for breaking treasured, mastercrafted, legendary, and fabled items down into the shards, powders, and infusions. After 100, you only get skill updates for actually making items. Some of the recepies you have for transmuting actually give exp to your base tradeskill profession... no chance for transmuting skill updates with those. You need to make the right items.
    The unfortunate part is that the items that you make to increase your transmuting skill don't sell very well, so save some of those shards and powders to make some stuff that is actually marketable. (Search broker for the best-selling items.)