would these procs both work?

Discussion in 'Casters' started by svann, Jan 21, 2015.

1. svann Augur

I have a dagger that procs sympathetic alleviating burst VIII
    and an aug that procs sympathetic alleviating burst IV

Would I get twice as many procs using both or would only the sword ever proc since its stronger? Its hard to test because they both give the same proc message.
  2. guado Augur

I am not a proc expert by any means, but they can/will proc simultaneously. Not sure about chances, or anything like that. I do know that you can only get x number of procs per minute.
  3. Sancus Augur

My understanding (and this could be way off) is that there is a certain order in which the game checks for procs, and if the check succeeds, it does not continue to check for other procs. You therefore experience diminishing returns on procs, as the procs far down on the check will not fire very often. Both are able to proc, but the second proc will not proc as often as the first.
  4. Crystilla Augur

If I remember correct when this was tested in Underfoot when those first came around, it goes something like this.

1) Yes, there is an order of what will be checked first.
    2) Your total chance of each individual item proc'ing therefore is affected by the order of what gets checked first.
    3) Your total # of procs will increase overall. This can mean you will get more mana overall from the multiple procs than you would have gotten if you only had one aug.

Those of us with 2 (helping hand + a weapon with the proc) do see it proc quite often.
  5. Kathylynn_Unity Augur

Approximate overall proc rates are as follows:

1 proc: 46%
    2: 71%
    3: 84%
    4: 92%
    5: 95%
    6: 98%
    7: 99%

Which fits the pattern:
    P(A∪B)=P(A) + P(B) - P(A∩B)
    P(A∪B∪C)=P(A) + P(B) - P(A∩B) + P(C) - P(A∩B∩C)
    P(A∪B∪C∪D)=P(A) + P(B) - P(A∩B) + P(C) - P(A∩B∩C) + P(D) - P(A∩B∩C∩D)
    etc.