Thinking of returning to EQ

Discussion in 'The Newbie Zone' started by Maelstrum_Stormrider, Oct 16, 2012.

1. Maelstrum_Stormrider New Member

Hello all - I started playing April 1999 and played until 2003. I have really missed the game and have been thinking of returning, however, the one thing I am afraid of is returning to a deserted game. What is the player population like these days like? Will there be many to group with or... ?

Thank you for your time and I look forward to your replies.

Maelstrum
  2. Geroblue Augur

There are lots of players. There a jump after f2p went into effect. You could always start a free account, and go to the zones and times you expect to play and see if there are players there or not. And Test gives gold account and al vet rewards for free.
  3. Maelstrum_Stormrider New Member

Thank you Geroblue - is TEST accessed via.... ?
  4. jarsh92 Elder

I'm a returned player and I think there is still plenty of people to group with. The only downside is you will probably have to put your own group of people together. Seems like hardly anyone uses the LFG tool anymore, and its back to catching people in general or ooc chat to get your groups formed up.

I haven't regretted coming back, and am getting ready to bump my main account to gold.
  5. Yther Augur

Download the game (See http://launch.soe.com/everquest/ ). Install the game. Run the game EverQuest.exe. On the patcher top left, click on Version: Live, and in the option window, switch it to Test and hit Apply. You may want to run Live version first and /testcopy a toon over to test server, if you have you want to do that with (They get copied, not moved).

Yther Ore.
  6. Mackinaw Lorekeeper