Tactics for MAG + NEC + BST?

Discussion in 'The Newbie Zone' started by TarewMarrForever, Aug 26, 2013.

1. TarewMarrForever Augur

I just started playing again recently and roped a few friends in with me from work for a few hours a week. One is a total noob and the other hadn't played since 2001, and he had never played a Necro and always wanted to try one. I had never played a Beastlord and always wanted to try that hybrid, and through sheer luck the "new guy" picked a Magician.

So to make a long story short, we ended up with 3 pet classes, with no true tank, and no true healer. Mercs to the rescue. ;-)

Of course, we pounded through the first 20 levels very quickly, even lightly twinked (some HP gear and money for store bought pots and bazaar skinspikes). Since I'm the "veteran" player I drove the sole Healer merc while everybody else got used to driving their pets. To tell the truth we really didn't need the Healer merc, but it did save on downtime and I'm sure sped things up.

So there we are with 3 pet classes, and I doubt either of the other two will unlock secondary Merc slots, although I can on my account.

I'm wondering what people think would be a good combination of tactics and mercs for those 3 classes for general all around hunting the rest of the way to 50. Provide justification to your reasoning please. ;-) Of course, our tactics will probably have to change past that, and again past 70.

I was leaning towards Tank + Healer + Healer initially, but as of late I'm thinking more of Tank + Caster DPS + Healer or even possibly (2) Caster DPS + Healer.

My reasoning is that since each of the pet classes get their own ability to heal their pets, we really only need the other healer to pick up the slack and keep us buffed. I'm thinking 2 healers might be overkill. And although we are obviously still at low level, I've been impressed by the DPS rate of the group with the water pet + proc buff on the warder + necro dots.