Relative power of classes through later expansions?

Discussion in 'Time Locked Progression Servers' started by Hinastorm86, Feb 23, 2017.

1. Hinastorm86 Augur

Im trying to pick a main for phinny right now, and am attempting to pick assuming i'll be playing longterm, not just fotm.

That said, I have no experience with the game between PoP and a couple expansions ago on live, so this has been difficult.

Someone wanna take a crack at describing relative power movements, and key abilities gained, over the expansions for me? preferably from a GoD to, lets say, HoT range?

Mostly interested in dps classes, but would not mind knowing about others also.
  2. Machen New Member

It is really hard to predict at this point exactly how the different dps classes will stack up at various eras. Daybreak has made some huge changes to DPS classes in the past year or two, since Fippy and Vulak went through those eras. Really, at this point, the best anyone can give you is an educated guess. Here are a few thoughts though.

Gates introduces Berserkers. Last time around, melee dps (especially Rogues, to a lesser extent monks and zerkers) did very well from OoW to PoR. Casters suffer more than melees from 4 expansions of level 70 cap with no major spell upgrades.

In SoF and SoD, wizards take a big step back into the limelight with the introduction of instant cast nukes and twincast. Rangers also seemed to pick up during this era, and can absolutely blow up the parse on certain fights.

Necros are steady all along but also seem to take off more later in the expansions. Coming out of House of Thule into Veil of Alaris, they can do some pretty amazing things. Exping in zones like City of Bronze, our necros were often killing mobs faster solo than entire groups of non necros. And on any raid fights where there are several bosses that can be dpsed simultaneously, necros will absolutely crush it. They also are due for a dot revamp that will probably make them even more powerful.