Question about dark elf necros and KOS

Discussion in 'The Newbie Zone' started by Zujilli, May 13, 2015.

1. Zujilli Elder

So, I am thinking of rolling a dark elf necro as my main when the new Ragefire progression server comes out. I've done some reading and have seen it mentioned multiple times that in many places I will be KOS due to being a super hated race and class combo. How much will this hinder my ability to explore the world?

I have seen mention of being able to do faction work to get people to hate me less. What does this "faction work" usually entail (bear with me, I'm still a pretty huge newbie here due to sporadic playtime)? Can dark elves be agnostic, and if so will that even help at all considering I have two strikes against me already (being a dark elf and a necro)?
  2. Bess_Xev New Member

An enchanter can be agnostic, I don't believe a necro has that option. (I don't know about the other classes as I haven't played those combinations before) I just got in the habit of conning pretty much every NPC so I knew if I should keep my distance or not. You will need to stay out of truly "good" cities as a necro and even in the neutral ones you may find some vendors who won't sell to you and once in a while you'll find an NPC that just wants to kill you. You learn what/who to avoid and sometimes you have to take a different route to get somewhere but you get used to it. It's fun, and over time you'll learn which areas you can sneak through and how to get around the faction issues. Enchanters can alter their races with illusions which can help in some cities, but not all and/or there may be some NPCs that see through the illusions. It keeps you on your toes!

Faction work can be things like grinding mobs that give the positive faction that you want, there may also be items you can turn in at the guards for certain cities that will give you faction.

My experiences are from way back though, if things have changed since then I'm sure someone will speak up.