New(bie) Herioc: worth going back to do earlier progressions?

Discussion in 'The Newbie Zone' started by Rumblerum, Mar 20, 2016.

1. Rumblerum Augur

I just started playing again. I haven't played since 2003/2004 I think, so I'm totally, TOTALLY clueless. Everything since Planes of Power is ??? to me. It's amazing how much I forgot and how much interaction this game requires. I'm a week in and still clueless about everything. It's very overwhelming, but I'm slowly trudging my way through and it is fun. I use to be on a raiding guild on Vazealle, but those days are long gone.

I tried starting from lvl 1, but upon learning about "heroics" a day later I jumped at the chance and bought one (I'm a fully subscribed member from Planetside 2). I created a Shadowknight, all green-colored and new! The biggest issue was and still is the spells and AA skills. I honestly have no idea what is what and other than trial and error, I still don't know lol, but I think I found a good setup.

In any case, background aside, I spent a few days doing Ferrott, did my tier IV or V (forgot which) journey merc quest to get the cleric merc and now I'm wondering what to do. I can do the Ferrott quests just fine it seems, without dying (much), but I want to see the old expansions while still providing some experience.

So after some research I decided to go back to Seeds of Destruction. Everything is light blue to me in the first zone and dies very easily, which is just fine as I need training wheels. I found the progression quests and did everything in Oceangreen Hills (just killed the Blackburrow boss quest with my merc). I'm about to move to the next zone.

But:

1. Am I wasting my time?
    2. Should I go back even further in expansions?
    3. What am I missing out if I just start at Seeds?
    4. Should I just start at House of Thule progression?

Thanks in advance.