Monk weapons

Discussion in 'Melee' started by Sebr, Jun 22, 2013.

1. Sebr New Member

Hello all,

Im back from a long abscense and always played casters, so im a complete noob about how weapon stats work now and advice on wich weapon should i get for my new monk, he is 50 now. Btw english is not my primary language so forgive my writting.

Right now im wielding:
    Wavetrasher --> http://everquest.allakhazam.com/db/item.html?item=79927
    Tideslasher --> http://everquest.allakhazam.com/db/item.html?item=71667

Bought them in bazaar a few days ago when my monk was level 30 for a coupple hundred plats so i guessed that while the proc doesnt works, the damage is decent, also the hp buff on them doesnt affects me. After that i got told those might be pet weapons but they wont dissapier when i log so i kept them.

I tested using other weapons but my damage was noticiable lower.

1- Are they good for starters or should i remplace them asap as there are other better options?

2- How damage is measured?
    For example wavethrasher has damage 12 + 7 cold damage + 25 bonus damage = 44 ??... and the backstab damage applies too if my merc is tanking?

3- Wich options you suggest to remplace these?

Thanks in advance!

Sebr
  2. Yther Augur

Only Rogues get Backstab DMG when they use their Backstab skill (similar to dragon punch, tail swipe, etc. on Monks; a skill you have to press). Best to compare damage divided by delay. Elemental damage is usually only 1/4 or so effective since it gets resisted pretty often. Bane damage you can figure full amount, only if you're killing the bane type mob. Killing anything else gets no effect from the bane damage.