[Monk] New and returning player class information

Discussion in 'Melee' started by Orangemilk, Apr 5, 2015.

1. Orangemilk New Member

I wrote this because I found myself confused about the current playstyle of the Monk. As a returning player - the abilities, disciplines, AA, skills, timers, and interactions between them was a bit overwhelming at first. It can be hard for new or returning players to get a feel for how a class should play. The target audience is Monk players who feel totally lost. There are a lot of links in the post to facilitate research or reference.

This guide is intended to explain different interactions, as well as give an idea of what you might use in common situations. I do not intend to explain how to use all of these abilities or tell you which combinations will provide the best results. That being said… if you see a mistake, omission, or feel a clarification can be made – please let me know. I’m not an expert in all Monkly matters, just a regular player who spent a lot of time looking up stuff.
    The current formula for EverQuest seems to give major abilities a refresh every 5 levels. Utility and special abilities are sprinkled in.

The Basics

The Monk is based around melee damage, special attacks, and skills. Melee damage consists of blunt attacks (1 or 2 hand) and Hand-to-Hand (Martial). Special attacks consist of Tiger Claw, Kick, Round Kick, Eagle Strike, Dragon Punch and Flying Kick.
    Tiger Claw is unlinked and can be used in conjunction with one of the other 5 special attacks, typically Flying Kick. However, you still should level up the other skills because they are often used for other disciplines or AA’s.
    Autoattack takes care of a large portion of your melee damage, so playing a Monk is all about managing your special attacks, skills, combat abilities and AA’s.

Timers (links to EQ Resource)