Essential things that aren't obvious

Discussion in 'Casters' started by jiri_, Apr 30, 2014.

1. jiri_ Augur

I started playing just after Kunark was released and have played off-and-on since. From Kunark through roughly LDoN, my main was a Necromancer; I maxed out at 59 when the level cap was 65. Since coming back, I've retired my other main and am going with the Necromancer. I used a Heroic upgrade on him, and I'm not worried about upgrading gear and spells and that sort of thing. EQ seems to be pretty linear as far as wearable gear goes these days.

My question has to do with all the other stuff. What items, spells and abilities are essential to function as a Necromancer (and more broadly as a caster) that the game doesn't tell you about if you're just jumping back into it? What clickies should I be targeting? What focus effects are most useful, and are there any I need that aren't part of the natural gear progression - pet focus, maybe? Are there potions I should be carrying at all times?

In short, what are the things I need to have in order to play optimally?

Thanks in advance for the help
  2. Hayzeus Augur

Everything you want to know about the ways of necro can be found at the link below. If you want the best guides, there is a subscriber area that has more verbose guides on squeezing every last bit of necrotic evilness out of your character.

http://www.necrotalk.com
  3. Tearsin Rain Augur

there are a lot of clickies and focuses and such that you're going to just pick up naturally - for example all focus effects relating to dots are just naturally on your visible gear, except for duration extension which is from ears.

focus effects:
    epic 2.0

clickies:
    the BP from the 'citadel of anguish' (omens of war raid end zone).
    holgresh elder beads can also be extremely useful, situationally.
    ring of immobilization can also be very handy.

pet focus is good too, though less vitally important to necros than to mages.
  4. Zaxamaphone Augur