Bard Vs Enchanter (BOX) questions

Discussion in 'The Veterans' Lounge' started by Nick, Feb 11, 2013.

1. Nick Elder

I currently box a SK/shaman/enchanter and I'm considering switching the enchanter for a Bard. Any opinions? All LvL 51 ATM on the progression server and dps is already becoming a problem.

Mainly focused on the CC vs DPS and what will be best for end game lvl 80-100 . I have very little experience playing a bard...
    1. Are bards easy to box? How does /melody work?
    2.Can bards keep multiple mobs mezed with ease? Will I need to switch targets constantly?
    3. What songs will I be playing most likely? Hp/mana regen? Grp haste with rogue mercs?
    4. Does bard grp haste stack with shaman/enchanter haste?

Thanks for the replies!!! Someone suggested I switch the enchanter for a bard and have 2 rogue mercs + 1 cleric. I want to make sure it would be the right decision.
  2. Filatal Augur

I play an enchanter as a main and always have. For boxing in your set up, I would go bard. There are some little things you will give up later ( MR auras are nice for hybrids ) and you won't be locking down tons of adds with the bard ( bard mez requires a bit more attention than chanter ). But in place of that, you will get hands down the best adps in the game. Shaman/chanter combos are just not optimal, as neither is a real dps class, though both can do respectable dps in certain circumstances ( namely root rotting and charming respectively ). Buffs and slows are what each bring to the table, shaman haste doesn't have quite the added bonus as chanter haste at higher levels, but it will bring you to the haste cap with average worn haste. Bard v3 over-haste songs will go above that.