A completely different TDS experience

Discussion in 'The Veterans' Lounge' started by Cicelee, Nov 22, 2014.

1. Cicelee Augur

So many threads in the Veterans Lounge put TDS in a negative light, especially with regards to the ability to gain XP. A lot has been made about the XP changes in COTF Heroic Adventures, as well as overall XP in RoF and below. Many have commented about the high XP on monsters in TDS, and the lack of movement on the XP bar in TDS.

I started playing TDS on November 4. I was AFK from EQ the previous three weeks. I logged in on that Tuesday morning, claimed my banked quest rewards and glyphs, and started on the first zone in TDS. My goal was to play strictly in TDS- no Gribble HA, no flipping of moles...just TDS.

On November 20, I reached lvl 105. At that point I had completed all of progression except for Thulisaur merc tasks, and Arx merc/partisan/mission. I had not used a single XP potion the entire way. Only twice I used Lessons- that was Wednesday and Thursday of this week after the patch that improved overall TDS XP gains. Which means for the majority of my time, I was killing and gaining XP under the "worse" TDS system. I spent half of my time alone, and half with anywhere from 1-3 other players (mostly guild members).

I averaged around 6 hours per day playing in TDS over the past two weeks. Which factors out to around 100 hours or so spent in TDS- give or take a dozen hours either way. I do play a magician, so I acknowledge that it is easier for me to molo current content that, say, a rogue.

So what is the point of this thread? To show everyone that you can level up in TDS. You can gain lvl 105 only through TDS, without lessons or XP potions. That you can progress in TDS...if you actually make an effort to do so.