Does Truebox actually solve anything?

Discussion in 'Time Locked Progression Servers' started by Varyk, Mar 13, 2024.

1. Varyk Lorekeeper

I normally start my posts off by apologizing because I don't like people mad at me, but a friend told me I apologize too much, so whatever be mad.

I ask this question in earnest. I understand the reasoning behind Trueboxing: multiboxing is too accessible and bots everywhere just ruin the game. I've been playing on Oakwynd for ~9 months now, and the issue certainly isn't fixed.

My main problem with the actual execution of Truebox (and this is an assumption so please correct me if I'm wrong) is that the "problem boxers" are always going to find a way. Whether it's by doing it the legitimate way and buying a bunch of mini PCs, or using VMWare, or figuring out a bypass (I know they exist), those people who are are set to profit off of EverQuest are just going to take the extra step to keep doing what they were doing.

Again, my opinion, but the real people who suffer from Truebox are the casual boxers. The people who just like to play the game solo and don't care to profit off the game. To make it personal, I'm a dad and a husband and my playtimes will always be disjointed. I enjoy being able to jump in and play the game without relying on anyone else. It's fun to play different characters and micromanage my characters so they perform optimally.

Anyway, I just wonder if continuing to enforce this Truebox ruleset really does anything to benefit the overall quality of the game. I'm also very curious to see how/if they implement it in the next TLP.
    mercury890 likes this.
  2. Soriano Augur

I two box have since 2000, although I did take a pretty long break and came back because of Oakwynd and the FTE ruleset.

I see on Oakwynd boxers running 6 or more characters all the time...whether they use a lot of laptop or Virtual Machines they are doing it.