I suck (....but I wish I didn't)

Discussion in 'The Newbie Zone' started by Chugwater, Feb 25, 2019.

1. Chugwater New Member

Thanks for reading this, to those of you who do.

I started playing Everquest when Velious was the newest expansion, and I've been playing ever since. A few months on, then a couple of years off, then a few months on, etc. I've seldom grouped, and never raided. (….but I would like to!)

The cycle generally looks something like this: I start playing and I notice that the vast bulk of the other players are at the top levels. So I solo, and molo, up to low/intermediate levels. It's a grind, but I realize that the carrot at the end of the stick is at the top levels, so I keep grinding for a few months, an hour or two at a time, probably about ten hours per week. (Only ten hours per week because I have a job and a life, including a wife who does not play Everquest. My time has to be budgeted a bit.)

While I'm doing this, I read posts on the forum here. This is what they look like to me [not an actual post]:

“Hey everybody, just wondering.. When I was 13-boxing the other night in the Crypt of Fermented Ambitions trying to get my Postage Stamp for a quest in Plane of Nausea, I noticed that one of my Rogues was only doing 97% of his usual damage. I tried overclocking my processor but it didn't help. Was my Zealous Dagger of Felonious Intent nerfed again? Or does this have something to do with an incompatibility with my Druid's Bogus Earthen Conundrum spell? Any help would be appreciated.”

And usually the responses are even more convincing that this is something I'm just not going to be good at, this Everquest thing: