PVP Phase Etiquette & Codes?

Discussion in 'Battle of the Legends (PvP)' started by CCBatson, Feb 19, 2013.

1. CCBatson Dedicated Player

I'm still new with Open World PVP. I mostly go in to fly around, scout collections, and familiarize myself with the 'feel' of the phase. I actually like what I see, but I have been a bit baffled by something recently.

Most of the people who convinced me to give it a chance were a mix of heroes and villains who tend to act decently towards fellow players, tend to play their characters with a sense of 'honor' so to speak, and so I rather assumed that most of the community might be along those 'clubhouse' lines of courtesy and respect. Little things like saying "Good fight", bowing before or after a fight, just basically being friendly as a player even if characters are opposite factions, were all things I had been 'taught' when I started to experiment with PVP play, first back in Legends and now as I started I expand into open world PVP, I thought it might be similar.

Well, in Open World, I've met some good people on the opposing side. But I've noticed something that I just had to ask about here. A LOT of villains seem to like attacking from ambush. Some are apologetic about it afterwards in chat/tells, and say that's not their normal Mode, but they were acting more on opportunity to score mission kills. That's cool, I am not really surprised and I can kinda see their point. I decided for my part I would not have my character act that way, but I could respect that.

Then I started getting bushwhacked by multiple attackers. Sorta surprising. Again, some were apologetic about it, saying it was more of a shark frenzy of opportunity than a planned thing. I can still kinda relate. I wasn't mad, though a bit frustrated. I mean, I'm still building up and learning here, right?