Dear Developers: Concerns Regarding Learning/Playing Roles and The Community

Discussion in 'Gotham City (General Gameplay)' started by Gray Vengeance, Nov 5, 2015.

1. Gray Vengeance New Player

DCUO was the first and only MMO I’ve played. I was never a fan of online gaming, but on a whim I tried DCUO about two years ago. I played the game for two months, had an ok time, and then stopped playing for about 9 months. When I started playing again, I discovered leagues, and got connected to great people who taught me how to play the game properly and developed relationships with the DCUO community.

Since that time I watched the game grow and implement changes to make the game more accessible to casual players. My concern is that many of the changes geared to make the game more accessible are also making game less personal and fun. In addition to that, the changes are also more harmful to new/casual players, as it puts them in a position where they achieve a high CR quickly, but do not have the skills and understanding of the roles and gameplay to meet the expectations of their newfound high CR.

After maximizing my Troll/DPS character I decided I wanted to create a tank, as that is a role I often enjoy playing. Having played Ice and Rage, I decided to try Earth. As I was leveling up my Earth character to Level 30 I played as DPS. I didn’t struggle at all to complete any missions. I received all the boss HardKnock feats with no difficulty. The only purpose I had for grouping with others was just to get tasks done faster so I could level up quicker. Outside of that, there was no need to work with or communicate with anyone.

Upon reaching level 30 I began queing for content and acquiring Tank Gear. In virtually all my que’s I was paired with another player who was a DPS with 20+ CR than I had. Because of that the DPS(s) was able to beat the NPCs quickly, without taking significant damage, thus negating the need for a Tank, Controller, or Healer.