Brick + Aftershock not viable?

Discussion in 'War Room (Powers, Artifacts, & Builds)' started by Hero of Justice, Sep 18, 2014.

1. Hero of Justice New Player

So I've resolved to actually start looking more into Earth tanking via one of my alts, however at the moment I know very little about it (I'm a Controller by trade, DPS on occasion). I have a little knowledge on Tanking basics, but for Earth I mostly just know that there is the pet Tanking with Brick and the Aftershock Tanking with that power.

I've always kind of used both in my loadout but now I'm wondering if I'm doing myself a disservice and won't be able to use it viably later on, and I don't want to grow bad habbits as I learn Tanking. Right now I use Tectonic Break as the Dazed PI applier, then 3 pet powers (Summon Brick/Heal Brick/Power Brick), Soothing Sands for immunity, and then Jackhammer. Will this work, or are there fatal flaws? Any help is appreciated! :)
  2. Sir Arcanium New Player

Pet tanking is by and large the more consistent way to tank as earth. As long as brick is out and alive 25% of your dmg is always sent to him now. No longer do you have to use the damage shift power. Any time you use any power as earth you get a flat 25% absorption plus a defense boost based on your dom for 12 seconds. This means that unless you never touch your powers, you'll be at full defense at roughly all the time. Throw in casual use of gemstone shield to reduce dmg further and you'll be taking very little dmg. In most cases dmg that any half decent healer can manage.