Too old for serious playing?

Discussion in 'Gotham City (General Gameplay)' started by Saami, Jul 2, 2023.

1. Saami Loyal Player

Recently i started playing DCUO again. I have always been competitive player since 80s. However now i feel old and slow. It could be lack of practice, but i wonder if there is any other older people who plays still in highest level. 45yo or older.
    • Like x 5
  2. Limey Committed Player

I'm fairly certain I've known a good handful of people that either used to play this or still do, that when I met them when I started at the end of 2011, they were 50+ at that time. Still playing would now be 60+.

That being said, certain powersets and roles require better response times than others. Healers are usually the highest response time role/powersets during the current endgame because (as I understand the general consensus is) heal over time-focused healing is not super powerful for most powersets(nature bring the exception because the heals over time feed the burst heals), but quick response time is necessary if people suck at avoiding huge damage moves.

Certain tank powers require elevated awareness and responsiveness.. rage tanking well is a lot harder than fire or ice tanking well.

Controlling is fairly easy because it, along with DPS, are the most rudimentary roles. You use powers semi-regular to keep POT up, and keep debuffs on the boss/as many adds as possible, and if you aren't buff trolling, dump power to keep everyone else's bar full.

And DPS just needs to know a rotation, and move or block when there's an indicator.

So as far as "being too slow", it could be that you're just playing a role or power you're not good with, rather than being too slow in general. Everybody has at least one powerset or role they do worse than other roles and powersets.
    • Like x 4
  3. Qwantum Abyss Loyal Player

41 here an still spankin most of these young try hards on the boards lol