Can someone explain this feeling?

Discussion in 'Gotham City (General Gameplay)' started by Ebon Pegasus, Feb 25, 2021.

1. Ebon Pegasus Master of the Speed Source

So I'm relatively new to this game. I bought it at launch years and years ago thinking it would be a suitable City of Heroes replacement. I played it until my character was level 30 and then promptly put it away because it wasn't City of Heroes.

Fast forward 10 years or so and I've been playing City of Heroes: Homecoming for a year and loving it. But I did everything there was to do. Got all the badges, did all of the missions, etc. I was ready for something new. I noticed a DC Universe Online advertisement and it reminded me about the game. I'm already a huge comic book and DC comics fan so I redownloaded it and after getting used to everything that was so different found myself having a blast. I even got my wife playing along with me. This was back in June of last year.

My character is now at 329 CR, 428 SP, 2 artifacts at 200 (Strat and Trans) and 2 at 161 and 167 respectively. I joined a league and I was finally find my niche and how to work my character. I love logging in and I love seeing what new feats or new challenges the League can do and building up Nth metal for the double xp artifact week, etc.

Today is the first time that I don't look forward to logging in. Reading about these new upcoming (possible?) changes has me feeling demoralized and defeated. All of this time, effort and careful planning will be upended by a single update?

What is the point of continuing? What is the point if you are just going to have to start over at square 1 arbitrarily at any given time?

I get that some of you folks may be used to this feeling as reading the archives, sweeping changes have been made before even forcing some folks to choose entirely different powers!