New patch, Way to ruin the only Defensible base fight!!

Discussion in 'PlanetSide 2 Gameplay Discussion' started by DEDMON, Dec 12, 2012.

1. Drakari

Well I'm not an expert, but in my opinion uncoordinated defence vs. uncoordinated offence should be pretty balanced, and coordinated defence vs. coordinated offence should be pretty balanced.

Old tech plants gave a huge benefit to defence ONLY when both the defence and the offence had no strategy or organization, which is still a problem but not "OMG so impossible to take" if you have a good outfit or even just lucking into a good squad with an active leader (depending on the size of the defending force). An organized push could easily break even a much larger defence if all they did was sit in the back, but the points that were harder to attack were also harder to defend.

New tech plants shifted that way too far, giving a huge benefit to zerg-fest attack and taking away everything that made the turtle defence possible. In fact, it pushed the balance so far that right now a highly organized defence would be somewhat balanced against mindless rush (e.g. bringing in appropriate vehicles from other bases to get rid of watever is camping the spawn, and probably at least one sunderer inside the main plant at all times). It seems like an AMP station, only less defensible from the lack of walls, no anti-vehicle shields, and poorly-placed single spawn location. I wasn't fond of them before (I don't have a good outfit yet on account of my mic being beyond awful, which I plan to fix) but at least it was a little more variety and offered some tactical options.
  2. Duvenel

I could not agree with you more. The amount of times I've seen my faction just sitting in the spawn room taking potshots outside is ridiculous. This is exactly how you lose a base, when you are not actively defending what it is that keeps you in control of that base.
  3. Cl1mh4224rd