Tank Mines vs. Deployed Sunderer

Discussion in 'PlanetSide 2 Gameplay Discussion' started by d1spatch, Dec 3, 2012.

1. d1spatch

IMO tank mines shouldn't be able to detonate on a deployed sunderer, or any stationary vehicle for that matter. If an engineer puts mines at a location of a stationary vehicle that vehicle should have to move in order for them to detonate.
  2. Some1

They really should be pressure sensitive. Its not like they are claymores or anything.

And it makes c4 and rocket launchers useless.
  3. Jestunhi

It doesn't make them useless, it gives another option.

A HA is hardly going to see a sunderer and run all the way to the nearest equipment terminal to change to engineer because rockets are useless.

I'm a sunderer driver who hasn't unlocked mines and I see no problem with it as it is.
  4. d1spatch

Mines should only activate when pressurized, yes, so a mine that has just been placed under a stationary vehicle shouldn't just all of a sudden activate because its there.
  5. Tasogie

remember this is a SiFi setting, mines can be seen as a scan detonate system. So when it registers a target within range it detonates.
    • Up x 1
  6. nibew

no

pressure mines are old tech if you read some info about modern mines you will get the idea

from wiki

Code:
    Several advances have been made in the development of modern anti-tank mines, including:

more effective explosive payloads (different explosive compounds and shaped charge effects)
        use of non-ferrous materials making them harder to detect
        new methods of deployment (from aircraft or with artillery)
        more sophisticated fuzes (triggered by seismic effects or combinations of effects)
        sophisticated "anti-handling" devices to prevent or discourage tampering or removal.

seismic effect!!

deployed sundy still works that make noise and ground shaking means mine will explode
  7. Dornez

Drop 2 mines, throw grenade.
    Drop 2 mines, shoot 1 mine 3 times.